2017-08-14 11.06.34

Have you ever wondered if you could go on a coffee date with Jesus what would it be like?

What would you talk about?

For two hours it was just you and Him, and the only thing between you was the table and the salted caramel frappe in your hand.

Well, for me a hopeless romantic, I’ve thought about this many times and I think my date would look something like this.

Okay, so if you know me at all you know that I am a planner, and a list maker though I still like to be spontaneous every once in awhile.

It was an ordinary Monday morning when I got the text…

It was a little after eight,and I was buried under my mint green blankets, lost in a dream when I was awakened by my phone’s vibration.

Yes, I’m a very light sleeper and if a pen dropped in China it would wake me up.

As I fumbled for my phone buried under my pile of fluffy blankets, I removed my sleep mask so I could attempt to read the text through my very blurred vision.

“Would you like to go on a date with me Friday night at six?”

I would love to just talk and get to know each other better, so if you’re up for it meet me in the park at six, and I’ll bring the coffee”-Jesus.

Wait a second, I must be seeing things!

Jesus, there’s no way! I had to still be dreaming!

After pinching myself several times and not waking up, I came to the conclusion that this was either a very cruel joke, or it was real and if it was I knew I never forgive myself if I passed this opportunity up.

So with shaking hands I sent my reply… yes and that was it.

All week I couldn’t eat, sleep, or concentrate on anything!

I made list after list of everything I wanted to ask Him, but by the time I wrote down all my questions I had filled up an entire journal!

This was crazy I only had two hours I couldn’t possibly ask Him everything!

So Friday came around and it was almost time for our date!

After examining the contents of my closet, I realized that I didn’t have a single outfit that was appropriate for a date with Jesus!

So I finally decided on something that was very me a flowy top, ripped skinny jeans and my beloved Chaco sandals.

As I pulled into the parking lot precisely at six I knew that I was not prepared at all for this date!

So with shaking hands and beads of sweat forming on my brow, I managed to swallow the butterflies that were trying to escape from my stomach and quickly walked to the park bench.

When I reached the spot where we were to meet I froze in my steps when I saw a man sitting on the bench with two coffees in hand.

I couldn’t move, speak and even something as simple as breathing seemed like a foreign concept to me.

He was FLAWLESS. .. stunningly perfect in every way.

When His eyes met mine I lost it!

They were the most beautiful eyes I’d ever seen!

They pierced me to the core!

I think He realized my predicament, because He got up and walked towards me!

He walked with a limp though surprisingly He didn’t need a cane.

When He approached me, He placed his hand in mine and led me to the bench and proceeded to talk.

His voice as Angelic as it sounded was shaking, and I noticed the tears forming in His eyes!

“Wow Shell, you’re more beautiful now than the day I created you!”

I could tell He was nervous because He immediately offered me the salted caramel frappe in his hands as if He needed the distraction.

“How did you know this is my favorite coffee?…. wait did I seriously just ask you that”?!

For the first time all evening we both just laughed!

His laugh was strong, glorious and the sound sent shivers down my spine!

But the laughter soon turn to tears as I tried to take it all in.

“Why are you crying Shell? is the coffee not good?”

“No the coffee is perfect,…that’s not it.

It’s just I had a whole list of questions I wanted to ask you, but now I’m here I can’t take my eyes off of You,  let alone speak!

I’m just so embarrassed, ashamed!

I’m not dressed for coffee with the perfect King of Kings!

Look at me, I’m filthy!

I’m covered in sweat and my jeans are ripped, but as bad as I look on the outside you should see my heart!

I’m broken and hurting on the inside and you shouldn’t want to be seen by me!

I’m the one that gave you that limp and those scars!

I just hurt You, that’s all I do,  as much as I try not too!

Apparently that’s all I’m capable of!

I don’t deserve this date,  let alone this coffee, but as much as I want to scream and run in shame not even the angels in heaven could tear me from this  bench!

You bewitch me Jesus! it’s like I’m under a spell and I can’t take my eyes off of you, for I fear that if I do I might die!

Just why?  Why would you want to be seen with me?

After all the pain that I’ve caused you, I just don’t understand!

None of this makes any sense!”

After lashing out in pain, I turned my head away in shame only to have Him place His hand in mine and softly whisper my name.

“Shell, He barely muttered through the tears.

If only I could make you understand. So please, if you’ll just hear me out I’ll do my best to explain why I asked you here tonight.

I just wanted tonight to be perfect in every single way.

I’ve only dreamed about this day from the moment I first fashioned you out of the clay.

You are truly my most beautiful creation, and the happiest day of my life… was the day you entered mine.

I’ve watched over you since you were little girl.

I’ve sung you to sleep at night, held you when you cried, and filled your head with dreams.

I would have lassoed the moon for you, if only you had asked me too!

I would gladly give my life for you again without blinking an eye.

Shell, when I died on that cross it wasn’t your sins that killed me, but the pain of being separated from you.

I didn’t know how I could ever live again, without my best friend.

So I made a vow to myself that I would see you again, but until that day I’d leave you with a piece of my heart to guide when your life fell apart.

So I’ve been planning this date for longer than you’ve been alive, and I wanted it to be special in every single way.

I reserved your favorite park, if you look around you’ll see it’s just you and me.

I made your favorite coffee, just because I knew it would make you smile.

I combed my hair and shined my shoes,  I did everything right!

But then I just look into your eyes, and I feel hypnotized!

You are so beautiful Shell,  and you bewitch me in every single way!

It doesn’t matter what you wear, or how you fix your hair you’ll always be a princess in my eyes, and if anyone tells you otherwise than it’s just a lie!

I too had so much I wanted to tell you, but all my words have managed to escape, and have been replaced with just one question…

May I have this dance?”

Before I could even reply, He had placed his hand in mine, and pulled me into His arms right next to his heart.

I just stood there with eyes closed and tears streaming down my face feeling so warm and safe.

I was afraid that if I opened my eyes, I would wake only to find it all been a dream.

After what seemed like an eternity, He pulled away, kissed me on the cheek and whispered this to me.

“Shell don’t you ever forget who you are,  but most importantly don’t forget whose you are!

For you princess belong to me, and  you had it all wrong!

The only pain that you’ve ever caused me is the pain of unbelief!

Never,ever again underestimate your worth!

For I hung the stars and the moon in the sky for you and they are the ones that don’t deserve to be seen by you!

You are a treasure, a rose in a sea of thorns, a priceless jewel,  perfectly flawed yet altogether beautiful!

You are more than just my masterpiece, you’re also my little girl and my best friend, and I’m counting down the days till I see you again.”

As I walked out of the park I held my salted caramel frappe in my hands, and this promise in my heart…

That one day soon on streets of gold,  I’d see my Jesus again…

and get to spend eternity with my best friend.

3 thoughts on “No ordinary coffee date

    1. Thank you!! This started out as a journal entry, but thought it might bless someone:) feel free to share!

      Like

Leave a comment